Life, Wedding

The one where it’s 6 months before the wedding | #TSLEPAKBRIDESERIES

Well will you look at that. It feels like it was just last week that I wrote about mine and the Lad’s engagement day, my 6 (Hard) Truths about being engaged article that went viral, and why we’re not doing wedding prep vlogs. 

I’m proud to say that I’ve not gone bridezilla yet, and that I’m still as lepak as I have been since the engagement. I think it’s because I’m just lazy (HA HA). To be honest, this is not why I decided to open my laptop up to write something. I was really interested in watching YouTube videos, nursing my cold. But as always, I get inspired at the weirdest times.

I wanted to write because it’s been awhile since I took a moment to appreciate the blessing that comes in a form of…

IMG_5144

My Fiancé.

He’s everywhere (on my socials). Sometimes, people tell me that they spot him first before they see me. Ha! I find that slightly amusing.

I digress.

He’s everywhere, but lately I feel like I’ve failed to stop and appreciate him and how much he does for the both of us. I used to surprise him with blogposts all the time expressing how I really feel in words that can’t be contained in a WhatsApp message. On some occasions, it managed to make him tear. But after a while, I stopped writing cos the effect wore off #desensitised. It’s been awhile, so let’s see if the two years worth of editorial experience will help me gain a tear or two (or half).

Hun,

I still get butterflies when I talk to you on the phone, when we text and when I’m getting ready to go out to meet you. Every date with you still feels like the first, and I’d like that for all the dates to come. I think I’ve said this before, but when I met (read: when we started talking, cos you know when we met you were really obnoxious) you, it was surreal because you were like the guys in happy love songs I had in my iPod. I remember rubbing my eyes and just sitting in bed thinking if you were a real person.

And you know what’s the best part?

Five years later I still do. I still think back and wonder if this is all real. If I’m actually engaged to this person who got me a dinosaur cos I liked cute-looking dinosaurs and I had drawings of them with the word “RAWR” written beside it in a speech bubble. If I’m actually going to get married to this person who paid attention to the things I said, the littlest things- like how I’d always say “Life” and shrug when shit happens and got me a card that had a stick man floating on water with a speech bubble that said “Life.” If I’m planning a wedding with this guy who drove to the office at 8:30pm at night to put a Van Persie pillow on my seat just because I’m “a sleepyhead.”

I was amazed then, and I still am now.

I’m very grateful our paths crossed, albeit in the most oddest yet cliche way possible (We met at work… When I was an intern. I KNOW RIGHT.) I appreciate every single thing you’ve done for me, for us, for the last five years. And I never fail to thank Allah for bringing me you.

You… Make me want to work harder every single day. For us.
You’ve inspired me in so many ways imaginable and I’m just… Grateful.

I look forward to life with you as my husband, In Shaa Allah 🙂
MashaAllah and Alhamdulillah for now, Bismillah and In Shaa Allah for our intentions.

Love you, and I’m so glad you caught my cooties ❤

Love,
Tiara

Leave a Reply

