Wedding

6 Things You Can Do That Will Help You Not Be Kan Chiong When Planning Your Wedding | #TSLEPAKBRIDESERIES

I’ve gotten SO MANY questions about my wedding planning status-

  1. How’s it going?
  2. Have you done anything?
  3. What have you booked?
  4. Have you asked for quotations?

The answer to all of those questions is… I haven’t done anything!

Trust me, I’m not writing this out of panic. I’m writing this out of amusement. I appreciate the fact that there are people around me who constantly remind me that I’m supposed to plan a wedding. ‘Cause honestly, I actually forget that I need to, HAHA. I believe I’m not the only bride-to-be who’s in this position. So I thought I’d share with you how I still manage and try to stay calm in a society where booking wedding stuff can be very competitive and stressful!

1. BREATHE

calm down

(Well, not exactly like this, but you get what I mean!)

Source

Want that specific vendor? Totally understand how you’d want to practice “fastest fingers first” and email them in hopes that they’ll have a slot for your wedding date. BUT, the good thing is that the wedding industry in Singapore is BOOMING and there are SO MANY talented photographers, videographers, dessert bakers, décor pros etc that are out there- not to mention the ones that are up and coming! Really, when you click around on Instagram and Facebook (ehem, stalking other people’s wedding photos and videos), you’ll be spoilt for choice.

And if there’s one thing I keep telling myself, it’s “If it’s meant for me, it’s meant for me.” That way, I don’t pin my hopes up too high on a particular vendor. Just in case it’s not within my budget, or they’re fully booked. Because Allah’s plans are always bigger than mine. Or more accurately,

Allah’s plans are always bigger than that of ours.

So, breathe, put in the correct amount of effort and let Allah do the rest!

2. Budget

money emoji

You two need to set a budget for the wedding and this depends on whether or not you’re intending to do a combined or separate wedding. It is crucial to work within the budget as much as possible, because we’re working with hard earned money here! And of course, we wouldn’t want to over-spend because weddings should be as simple as possible. However, should you want something slightly bigger than ‘simple’, I believe it’s important to work within your means.

3. Have a to do list

I love lists. I like writing my lists with a good pen and in a pretty notebook. I currently have the wedding to do list in my phone and iPad, because I’m marrying a tech geek. So pen and paper, to him is passé (I’ll probably rewrite the list on paper after this). Here’s what ours looks like!

wedding to do

But I digress.

Having a list would help you to streamline the things that needs to be done, and when you should get it done by. This helps you to focus on one thing at a time. List it down according to-

  • Matters of most importance
  • Due dates

Listing it by due dates help you to figure out what you should get done first, second and so on and so forth.

4. Separate “Surveying” and “Booking” Deadlines

You can survey as much as you want, and as early as you want. But set a separate deadline for both so you won’t end up rushing and then panicking and then hyperventilating.

ALE

i just cant

Source

5. Pick your favourites!

List down a bunch of your favourite vendors for each part of the wedding (i. e. décor, flowers, bridal makeup and outfit etc) and if possible, follow them on social media to see more of their works. Further filter out the ones you really like and once you have a top five (I recommend a top five, ‘cause picking one out of five PER part [of the wedding] is slightly easier than picking one out of 15), start emailing them for quotations!

Having a top five (for example) would mean that you would be satisfied with either of the vendors, even if you didn’t manage to get your most favourite one out of the lot, ‘cause all five of them are your favourites.

6. Run it by the other half

11802076_10153060338693008_744448201_n edit

Well, essentially you’re not marrying yourself. I believe in compromise and keeping the other half in the loop. So, share with one another your top picks of vendors and be sure to CC him in every email you send to ask for quotations!

Sharing your top picks of vendors might even help make the selection process even easier. Say you two have three out of five similar picks, you can already narrow it to a top three instead of a top five, bearing in mind that the top five, as mentioned above, are your favourite ones and that you don’t mind either of them.

These are my very first bride-to-be insights! Please don’t take me the wrong way- I’m not trying to act like a know it all. I don’t know it all, and I’m just sharing what makes me chill out for the time being as I’m working towards planning my wedding.

‘Cause I believe sometimes we get caught up in what the society expects us to do, and the hype of it all, that we forget we’re only humans who need to stop and just BREATHE.

My mantra leading up to the wedding is really just,

“Put effort, Make Du’a and Trust Allah.”

In Shaa Allah.


#TSLEPAKBRIDESERIES is a new series I’ve decided to embark on. Basically it’s just me, T, sharing my experiences and the tips I’ve learnt along the way as the Lad and I start planning the wedding. Hope this series would be helpful (and perhaps entertaining) to some! And please make du’a for the Lad and I, as we will for all other brides and grooms to be out there 🙂

Leave a Reply

