Engagement, Life, Wedding

We’re Engaged!

[Edited: I wrote this a couple of weeks ago, but as this goes live, we’re officially engaged, Alhamdulillah! πŸ™‚ ]

1a4058f62ea394aa78ef5e0401680996

SURPRISE!

10806357_10152600580628008_3471473366642151566_n
We’re getting engaged! (In shaa Allah)

Yes, the Lad and I are finally getting engaged! Alhamdulillah!

I’ve been toying with the idea of documenting our journey for a while now, and the Lad has given me the green light to do so! The Lad is a quite private when it comes to personal stuff like this, so I thought it’d be best if I asked if he’d be comfortable with it first πŸ™‚

Believe it or not, the topic about the engagement has been in the works since August 2014. We kept the plans to ourselves until the end of November, where his parents came over to my house to speak to my parents. Confused? Let me take you through it!

In my eyes, the whole journey from pre-engagement, to the solemnisation day is broken up into phases.

Phase 1: The Lad asks my parents for my hand in marriage

The Lad came over to my place to speak to my parents about his intentions to marry me. Well, let’s just say that if I was a man, I would be so nervous to do this. But as always, the Lad is forever cool, calm and steady. Basically, my parents gave us their blessings, Alhamdulilah.

Phase 2: The “Merisik”

A.k.a The parents meet and the Lad’s parents ask my parents on behalf of the Lad for my hand in marriage. This ‘meeting’ is basically to confirm that both parents are okay with our plans, and to confirm the date and duration of the engagement. it’s also the time when the parents get to know one another.

Well, I was nervous. I wanted to poop in my pants. I just wanted things to go smoothly, and Alhamdulillah, it did. Thankfully, the Lad’s sisters came to my place too so I hung out with them in my room while the parents talked in the living room. Apparently, I’m not supposed to be listening to what they’re saying. Not sure why though!

Phase 3: The Engagement

So this is what we’re currently preparing for. It’s well… The engagement πŸ™‚

Phase 4: The Solemnisation

This is what we’ll be working towards. Being officially married in the eyes of Allah, and of course, the law πŸ™‚

I’m very grateful that my parents are accepting of my decision and intention to work towards marriage. I know it’s not easy for them to hear their then 22 year old (I turned 23 on Jan 2nd 2015!) baby daughter raise the intention to get engaged and eventually get married in the near future, In shaa Allah.

And on the Lad’s side, I’m grateful that I can click well with his family. We have such a healthy relationship and I’m just incredibly blessed. I thank Allah for all of these blessings because everything comes from Him.

That’s pretty much it for this post, I think. I’ll definitely post more about our journey! As a matter of fact, I’ll be typing one more right after this. Hehe, I’m feeling inspired.

Pray/Make Du’a for us, yeah? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

