Life

T’s Highs and Lows of 2014

I’ve abandoned this space for way too long and it only makes sense for me to welcome 2015 with open arms.

Ironically, I feel like I should wrap up 2014 before I start writing and blogging about 2015.

2014 was one of the most difficult years I’ve had in a while. But to save you guys a lengthy, boring post- I’ll list down the highs and the lows of the year.

Lows:

1. Job hunting is hard!

I felt really miserable cos it was so hard to land a decent paying job.

2. Many, many days of feeling demoralised

I’m my own worst critic. Sometimes I have high expectations of myself and it ended up stressing me a lot.

3. Hospital visits

Not for me, but for my late grandpa back in May. May-June was a really difficult period for my family and I. I went to the hospital every day for almost a month to visit my Grandpa. I never complained, but it did take a toll on my health too.

I lost so much weight in the two months, and it has almost been six months since then and I’m still working to gain back the weight I lost. My food intake was irregular, and it wasn’t as nutritious. And honestly, at that time, food was the last thing on my mind

4. Grandpa’s Death

I have two posts where I shared my grief here and here.

The-miracle back-home saying-goodbye-forever

Oh boy. Time sure flies, doesn’t it? As I’m typing this, it’ll be six months since his passing and I never imagined six months to fly this fast. Maybe it’s because I miss him a whole lot, and I still think about him every day. I just miss him a lot, and no other words will be enough to express that.

Highs:

1. Writing for Daily Vanity

daily-vanity

Honestly, writing for Daily Vanity was one of the best things that happened in 2014. I got to write and expose myself to the world of writing. Not only that, I got to write about stuff I was passionate about- beauty. I also feel very privileged because my bosses, Kristen Juliet and Keith are such amazing people. I’ve learned so much from Juliet and Daily Vanity has really exposed me to being a writer for an online beauty magazine.

2. I graduated!

You can read an in depth update on my graduation here 🙂

IMG_0444

I think as I was growing up, it was implanted in my brain that I had to go to university and get a degree. So it has always been in my list of things to achieve in life. My university journey was awesome. I’ve made so many good friends in university, and I’ve learned so much from each of them.

Some of my best University Buddies!
Some of my best University Buddies!

I’m not a straight A student. I’m really, really average. But in university, my perception towards education changed a whole lot. I give 150% in each assignment I do- making sure I do drafts after drafts and running them by my lecturers before submitting my work. Despite my average-ness, I have no regrets at all. I’m incredibly proud of my degree.

I do wish that my late Grandpa and paternal Grandma were able to see me in my graduation robe and my mortar board. But I suppose they know I did it 😉

3. I got a job!

All praises be to Allah, I got a job! I see this job as a stepping stone to my future job prospects. Hey, you gotta start somewhere, right? It’s my first job, and so far, I think it’s been really fruitful.

4. My YouTube Channel

rustyshoes92

My channel has grown SO MUCH since I first started it. It may not be much to other people with millions and millions of subscribers, but it means a lot to me! I remember doing a video in April 2014 when I reached 200 subscribers. I was so excited then, and I just couldn’t believe that 200 people want to watch me speak in front of a camera- talking about  my favourite beauty products. And as of now, I have a total of 797 subscribers! Three more till 800, and 200 more till 1000! Whaaaaaaat.

So if you’re a subscriber to my channel, thank you so much for your unwavering support and love. I appreciate it loads <3.

5. Trips with my friends

10258217_10152005387147133_4376426051222597925_o

I went to Jakarta earlier this year with one of my best poly mates, Marissa. It was such a short, yet lovely trip filled with bimbo-ness and loads of Indonesian food! I also appreciated her cousin’s hospitality as we stayed at her place for the three nights that we were there. I vlogged our Jakarta trip, and you can watch them here-

Jakarta Bound Part Deux Day 1: http://youtu.be/SPUn7psENuQ

Jakarta Bound Part Deux Day 2: http://youtu.be/lGUzcF7zTto

Jakarta Bound Part Deux Day 3: http://youtu.be/QJZ_0o2VqMA

In September, I went to Bangkok with Liyana!

10649707_10152437811322809_2602481600708332458_n

It was her first time to Bangkok and I was supposed to bring her around. We had so much fun shopping and eating. It was four days of Thai iced tea, sushi, Thai food, Kebabs, walking and shopping- lots and lots of shopping. I also vlogged while we were there! If you haven’t seen them yet, here’s the playlist-

6. The Lad and I turned Three!

photo 4

On Oct 25 2014, it marked the third year the Lad and I have been together (You can read about that here). Sometimes I can’t believe it has been THAT long. We went to Escape Hunt and we had loads of fun! To many, many more years together, God Willing 🙂

7. Loved ones

Of course, this would be meaningless without the people who bring meaning into my life.

My parents, family, friends, the Lad, the Lad’s family.

IMG_0025 eid-2014-family-pic

10429360_10152339285373008_5762281374831071399_n (1)

I’ve grown closer to the Lad’s family and I treat them like my own. I love having two almost-sisters (God Willing) and I love how loving his parents are towards me (Many, many loves in this sentence, yes?)

1461211_10152485521643008_4271906221116696856_n

1908459_10152489206398008_2163092772439062779_n

I just feel so much positivity and love all around me and I’m incredibly grateful for it, Alhamdulillah 🙂

Moving Forward

I’m looking forward to 2015. It’s only the 8th day of 2015 and I’ve experienced so much joy and positivity already. I pray that it’ll continue on throughout not just the rest of the year, but many years to come as well. I can’t wait to share more with you on what’s in store for 2015 🙂

But till then, I wish you all a very happy new year! May 2015 bring much more joy, laughter and love to you 🙂

– T

Leave a Reply

