Love

Three Cheers for Three Years

Yesterday marked our third year together. It’s amazing, yet oddly creepy how time flies. Still can’t believe we’ve been together for three whole years!

photo 4

It’s been an awesome three years with the Lad. And I’m very grateful and blessed to have him in my life. I remember pinching myself when we first started going out. Like, “Is this seriously happening?” I never believed in songs that Taylor Swift sang, or all the music videos and movies where the guy was just THAT sweet. To me, there was no such thing.

And then I met the Lad and his presence enhanced my life. I cannot stress enough the fact that before I met him, I was at a very happy place in my life. I was very contented and happy with myself, and being by myself. I realised that I could do a lot of things on my own. I was just at peace with certain things that had happened about a year before I met the Lad. It took me awhile, but I found it within myself to find peace.

All that time I kept coming across these quotes like, “To be happy with someone else, you need to be happy with yourself.” I was like, okay, sure. That makes sense. Just when I got a hold of being contented by myself and being myself, the story of the Lad and I began. And until now, that quote is something I truly, truly believe in.

I never knew how a harmless (I kid you not) post it I left on the Lad’s desk when we were working in the same company could have led to this. To now. To three years later.

The post it had no flirtatious intentions (I’m serious). I was just being irritating and I wanted to let him know I had used his desk and phone to help a colleague of ours for an event (because I’m a very nice colleague lol)

The Lad will be reading this and he will say that I was flirting with him… Ha ha..
But for the record, I didn’t flirt, and I wasn’t flirting (I didn’t even like him at all. I thought he was super obnoxious!)

326144_10150356598174204_1862984631_o

This post it, led to us talking every single day (unless we’re away on a trip) for the last three years. And how this all worked out just like that, amazes me and I’m truly, truly grateful and blessed for it, Alhamdulillah.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

“You see, the universe has a plan, and that plan is always in motion. A butterfly flaps its wings, and it starts to rain. It’s a scary thought but it’s also kind of wonderful. All these little parts of the machine constantly working, making sure that you end up exactly where you’re supposed to be, exactly when you’re supposed to be there. The right place at the right time.”

– How I Met Your Mother

Happy Anniversary, My Love. Here’s to many more adventures, and years together, In Shaa Allah 🙂
I love you ❤

1 thought on “Three Cheers for Three Years”

Leave a Reply

