Events, Life

I’M A GRADUATE!

I finally went for my convocation, and I’m officially a graduate! Alhamdulillah!

I’m going to share some pictures, some thank you-s and my story that has led me to one of the most monumental and memorable day in my life.

IMG_0025.JPG

IMG_0024.JPGIMG_0020.JPGIMG_0018.JPG

IMG_0019.JPG

IMG_0022.JPG

Being an only child has never been easy. I get passing remarks that I’m spoilt, I’m a brat, I feed off my parents’ money, and many others. There were times as I was growing up, I would stop and ask myself, “Am I? Am I all those things people stereotype me to be?” I choose not to believe that- until today.

I have to admit, I’m very grateful and blessed for everything Allah has given me. We may not be rich, but we always find ourselves to have just enough. I think that my parents have raised me well to be a well rounded human being. They taught me to be kind, and to be generous and to always see the best in people- even when we find it hard to find them.

My parents would do anything for me. And that included spending a sum of money for my education. I wouldn’t have been able to get my degree if it weren’t for them. They worked so hard, for this. To see me get my degree. And I have never been prouder of this achievement because I know that this time, I worked my butt off for my degree.

I’m not smart. I was never smart. Perhaps smart in other ways. But not in the way where it led me to the traditional path of education in Singapore. Yes, I did my O levels. And yes, I went to a polytechnic. But it was the step after polytechnic that changed me. I didn’t work hard enough when I was in poly. After getting my diploma, I found myself trying my luck and applying to local universities despite knowing that I will never get accepted. But my parents hoped I was going to.

But I didn’t.

And I just felt like I was failing my parents. I let them down so many times. I just never gave it my best shot. And then when I decided that I wanted to enrol in a Private Institution, I felt the pinch.

I felt guilty for putting my parents through so much.
I felt selfish for making my parents spend all their hard earned money on me.
I felt like the worst daughter ever.

And I considered not accepting Murdoch’s offer, so that I won’t burden my parents. But parents are really God’s blessing. Somehow, they’d know how to work their way around- for you. In this case, for me.

When I started University, I told myself, “I’m tired of thinking I’m average, and giving an average type of work. I need to think that I’m a Distinction student, and work like a Distinction student, to be one.” So I did. Every assignment, every paper, every presentation, every essay, every quiz and discussion session. I gave it everything I got.

I drafted every essay two weeks before submission.
Proofread every single paper I wrote.
Edited every single detail- punctuation, referencing.
Made other people proofread my work for me.
Sent my drafts in to get it checked.
Read every single article in the newspaper for a newsroom module.

You name it, I did it all.

Granted, I didn’t get all Distinctions… Hahaha. I got some. But you know, when you KNOW you’ve given it the best shot, you have no room to feel regret. You have no room to feel like a loser- because you know you put in a crap load of effort.

Of course, I would have never been able to get through University life without the best Uni mates. Eliza and Ilham are two of my best Uni mates. Including Ada, but I didn’t get to take a picture with her 😦 (Damn was it chaotic). Nevertheless, we’ve proofread each others work, ran up and down the school’s stairs to print stuff and submit work, go round writing articles after articles, essays after essays. They made Uni life so much better.

And lastly, I’m grateful for an amazing support system. From my parents, to my grandma- who always prays for me, and to Khairun.

I never thought I would be so lucky to be blessed with someone like him in my life. You know we all have a list of the ideal partner we want in life. I had mine too, back in the day. But it doesn’t come close to the kind of person the Lad is.

I’ve always believed that you have to be happy with yourself, before being happy with someone else. You should find someone who adds even more colour to your colourful world. You should be with someone who motivates you, someone who supports you. I find all of that in the Lad. But the one thing I’ve found about the Lad through my years in University was how he inspires me.

He doesn’t force me to be a certain way. He doesn’t preach at me to be better, or to be smarter, or to think and work harder.

He inspires me.

He inspires me to WANT to be the best possible version of myself. He inspires me to WANT to give it my 120% in every single thing I do- every essay, every article, every presentation- in every thing. He inspires me to WANT to achieve more than I ever thought I could achieve. And that means so much.

He has always had faith in me, even when I didn’t have faith in myself. And that is something I will always be grateful for.

IMG_0023.JPGI’ve had to face more snide comments about my choice to go to a private institution. People giving me glares like I’m not good enough. People telling me that my degree won’t get me anywhere cause it’s not recognised. People, will tell you anything to make you think you can’t do something. But you have to find it within yourself, to turn that negativity into motivation. That’s what I did and well, I did it.

I graduated.

Thank you Mummy and Daddy, for everything. For loving me, for loving me so much to invest so much in me. For raising me… Just for everything. I love you so much, and this degree is not just for me. It’s for you both. I pray Allah will bless you with love and even more blessings in this life and the next. And I pray He’ll grant you Jannah for raising me to be the person I am today.

Thank you Nenek for your never ending prayers.

Thank you Sayang, for being my rock, for always keeping me rooted and humble, yet always inspiring me to chase for the stars.

Thank you to my classmates, for always bringing life and laughter to class. For helping me, and working with me in projects and in other assignments.

And as my sign off, I’d like to share a quote that resonates with me especially after having reflected on the people who thought I couldn’t do it-

“Don’t ever let someone tell you you can’t do something”
– The Pursuit of Happyness

I did it.

Tiara xx

1 thought on “I’M A GRADUATE!”

Leave a Reply

