Life, Rants and Rambles, Updates

One Of Those Nights

Tonight in particular, I’m feeling really low about myself because I still have yet to secure a job. The feeling sucks 😦

It’s like, I’m not schooling, but I don’t have a job (other than writing for Daily Vanity and Nookmag, which is more of a freelance type thing. And of course, mentoring- but that’s ending soon too). It sucks to tell people I’m still looking for a job and to tell people I haven’t gotten a job yet if and when they ask. It really, really sucks.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been applying and I’ve gotten some interviews but unfortunately one that I was banking on, didn’t pull through (I think. I try to hope otherwise, but I think I didn’t make the cut considering how long it’s been). It went well in my opinion, but I’m sure they had their reasons. Besides, I kept telling myself- if that’s the job for me, then I pray that God helps me through it to do well and all that kinda stuff. But if it’s not, then there must be something out there for me.

Although I still do have that mentality, I’m just feeling kinda hopeless at the moment. Perhaps it’s just me overthinking. It’s just that, I have so many things I want to do and achieve, and I can’t seem to fully enjoy even thinking about them because I don’t have a job.

Nevertheless, I have to snap out of this soon because feeling crappy won’t get me anywhere. I just have to keep on applying, keep trying, keep the faith and keep praying. And of course, be patient. Good things happen to those who are patient (But that doesn’t mean you don’t do anything about it!).

So for my readers who are just feeling down about something, you can. You’re allowed to feel down. But you can’t stay there. We have to pick ourselves up and just keep trying and keep the faith. Hopefully something amazing will come our way!

To end this sort of emo/sigh/”feeling crappy” post, I’d like to share a short video that has a quote my polytechnic lecturer shared with the class on his last day teaching at Temasek Polytechnic. It has been almost five years since the first time I heard this quote and I look back at it from time to time as a reminder for me when I feel low, or when I feel like I’m not good enough. It inspires me to work harder, pray harder. So I hope this will inspire some of you too 🙂

Nothing in this world that’s worth having comes easy.

Leave a Reply

