Life, Rants and Rambles

Saying Goodbye.

The Lad has a group of friends. They’re all really close and have known each other for more than a decade.When I met the Lad, they were very welcoming and despite the fact that I was much younger than all of them, they are actually a fun bunch of people.

Over the weekend, we bade farewell to a member of our group, Bart. Nope, not in a death kind of way, God forbid. He left Singapore for Australia- where he’ll start a new life.

I’m actually extremely sleepy as I’m typing this. But I can’t go to bed not speaking what’s in my mind. So if there are some mistakes in sentence structure or in punctuation, I sincerely apologise.

Since I met Bart over two years ago, I knew that migrating was part of his life plan. I just didn’t know it was going to happen so fast. As compared to the rest of them, I’ve known Bart for the least amount of time. However, I do feel sad that he’s not going to be able to meet us for lunch or dinner or coffee.

He’s a really funny chap and I think I speak for all of us when I say we’ll miss his charade acts (He does the most EPIC acts when we play charades. It’s CRAZY. I can literally ROFL watching him act out a scene).

What makes me feel really sad that he’s not in Singapore is that the Lad won’t be able to hang out with him anymore.

No doubt the Lad has the rest of us to hang out with. But I know that Bart is one of his best friends like EVER. Although the Lad believes that it’s a good decision for Bart to have migrated, I somehow know that he will miss Bart’s presence a whole lot. They’re like Ted and Marshall from How I Met Your Mother or Raj and Howard from The Big Bang Theory.

Before the Lad met me, he spent a lot of time hanging out with his friends, Bart included. And they’ve seen each other through so many life altering situations and moments. It’s just something only best friends, or long time friends can relate to.

Today, the Lad and I sent another one of our friends, Syam to the airport. He lives in KL and came down to Singapore to see Bart off. As we were waving to Syam when he was at the immigration area. The Lad asked,

“Is it harder to say goodbye, or to see someone say goodbye to you?”

I picked the latter.

The Lad agreed.

I find it so hard to see people leave. When Bart walked through the immigration area, I couldn’t help it. I teared. I’m such a baby, I know. I just felt sad that he was leaving all of us. But at the same time, I know it’s best for him. I just keep telling myself that Bart’s going off on a really long holiday. Haha.

 

I’m really bad at goodbyes and it has been so since I was really young. When I was young, I had my birthday party and my cousins would all come and play. I absolutely hated it when the party came to an end, cos that means my cousins were gonna leave. I’m the only child, so I was quite lonely as a kid. But I had many cousins to make up for it.

I suppose goodbyes are part of life. And sometimes, goodbyes can eventually lead to hellos and opportunities.

What do you think? Which is harder- saying goodbye, or seeing someone say goodbye to you?

I hope all will go well for Bart. I wish him all the best. And I will always remember,

“Lecak sebuah, sebab lecak bujur.”

1601443_10152011819488008_199121182_n

Good Luck Bart! We’ll all miss youuuuuuu! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

