New Products, Reviews

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer

Finally, I have the time to write something in this beauty blog of mine! Forgive me for being inconsistent with this beauty blog. I’m much more consistent with my videos on YouTube. Hehe. Nevertheless, I am here now, so let’s jump into it!

I’ve gotten the opportunity to try out new products, which leads me to be able to write in this blog regarding reviews, thoughts and opinions of the products I’ve tried or am currently trying. I have a few to share, but let’s start off with a face moisturizer.

To be perfectly honest, I am very confused with what my skin type really is. I’ve been to Make Up For Ever as a makeup model for their MUFE Academy makeup students and the trainers tell me I have dry skin, which I think I do. I often get dry patches on my face, especially at my jawline, forehead, around my lips and around my nose. However, I still feel that I do get oily especially on my T- Zone. So, I suppose this means I have combination skin? No? I’m not entirely sure. Haha.

For the last five to six years I’ve been using Dermalogica Active Moist as my every day face moisturizer. I was recommended this skin care line by my facial therapist when I used to go for facials due to my acne prone skin (It’s still acne prone, but oh boy, it was very bad back then). Recently, I felt that this moisturizer was not working for me. Furthermore, I think that it’s expensive. A 100ml tube of Dermalogica Active Moist can cost up to SGD100 or more (I can’t recall how much I paid for it, but it was more than SGD100). The packaging was alright, but the moisturizer itself can get rather runny and if you squeeze the tube too hard, you will end up with more moisturizer than you need. So I felt that I wanted to try a new moisturizer because I didn’t want to keep paying so much for a product that’s not really doing much moisturizing even though that’s what it’s supposed to do.

I decided to try this-

IMG_6414

IMG_6422

 

I got mine at Sephora SG and I think First Aid Beauty is available at all Sephora outlets. It retails for SGD35 for a 50ml (1.7 fl Oz) bottle. The consistency of it is similar to that of Dermalogica’s Active Moist. However, I feel that the consistency for FAB Ultra Repair Face Moisturizer is thicker. I don’t need much product to put on to cover a certain area on my face. The Dermalogica Active Moist doesn’t really spread nicely on my face. With the same amount of product, I felt that it doesn’t cover as much surface area as the FAB moisturizer can. When I first used it, I kept checking if the dry patches on my face felt hydrated throughout the day. And whaddya know! The dry patches on my face felt hydrated and moisturized! I didn’t feel any flaky-ness whatsoever. I did this over a couple of days to see if my mind was playing tricks on me, or if it really did moisturize my face.

The product is soothing and cooling on the skin. It blends very well, and you don’t need so much product to cover the surface area of your skin. I know, it is still considered pricey for a moisturizer, being SGD35 for 50ml of product. But to me, it is still cheaper than the Dermalogica Active Moist.

IMG_6423

IMG_6425

I recommend this to anyone who has dry and sensitive skin, like me. But if you’re not confident, it doesn’t hurt to try ask the Sephora girls and guys if they could give you a sample 🙂

Overall, I am very satisfied with this product! I love that it comes with a pump. I think that it’s easier to control how much product you want to use. However, a downside of the packaging is that you won’t know when you’re gonna run out of product cos you can’t see through the bottle! Well , you can’t have the best of everything right? 🙂

Tiara xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

