Uncategorized

Where Does It Come From And Where Does It Go?

Take a guess as to what I’m talking about.

Shoot me for talking about it cos I think I’ve spoken about it many times.

Love.

(insert huge sigh here)

The other day, a group of friends and I were talking about it. Does it exist? Or is it just a figment of one’s imagination?
One said she doesn’t believe that love exists. (Don’t go “WTF IS WRONG WITH HER” here, cos I mean everyone is entitled to their own opinions, no?)  And then she asked me. What did I think about the existence of love.

And to be honest, I was kind of caught off guard. I realised how much I do not know about love, and yet I’ve used it- twice (not including the love i feel for family members and my parents). Listening to her talk about why she thinks it doesn’t exist made me wonder- maybe this shit doesn’t exist at all. Maybe we’re born to believe it existed. Maybe, like technology, it was created and manipulated to be seeped into the minds of human beings. I sound really scary here; very alien-ish. But you get what I mean.

Then I gave her my answer.
I won’t lie. I know I’m gonna be a pessimist and biased considering the fact that well, love hasn’t been that nice to me thus far. However, despite all of that I still believe that love does exist. I mean, whether or not it’s being created or if it’s really a wonder shouldn’t be taken into consideration. But yes, like everyone says, it is unexplainable- which is true. And I think that it’s the only word that’s like ironic. Why?

Ask a person who’s in a happy, healthy, relationship. Ask them what they think of love. And so they say…

“Love is a wonderful thing that can only be felt and not explained with words. It takes a lot of hard work, commitment and dedication. And it can’t work with one person- it takes two to tango. But on top of all that, love can never be explained- only felt with the heart”

And then, ask a person who just got out of a relationship, OR has never been in one. And so the one who just got out of a relationship says…

“Love is… bullshit. It drains you out and sucks the life out of you. Yeah, sure, you’re happy when the relationship’s going well. But when it turns ugly, that’s when it turns around and bites you in the butt. And the suckiest thing is, it is something that is oh so difficult for you to move past from. No matter what you do, no matter what you say. No matter what other people do, and what other people say, once you’re in love then you fall out of it, and you still suffer trying to mend things back to what they were before you fell IN love in the first place.”

And so a person who has never been in a relationship says…

“I don’t know… I have friends who say 2 different things, and I don’t know who to believe and who is right. All I know is, I’d experience it one day, I don’t know when, but  I will. I want to feel what my friends in a relationship feel- the joy and the happiness of being in love. But I don’t want to feel what my friends who fell out of a relationship or got dumped cos seeing them makes me sad- getting over someone and the crying… And I wonder if I can go through that. I’d rather be safe than sorry. So honestly, I’m not exactly sure..”

So you see, different people in different situations say different things about love.

And it’s true. Love is one thing that can only be felt and not explained with words. And love can hurt- really bad.
But one thing’s for sure. It’s one thing that everyone can’t live without.
I can’t prove it’s existence. Deny it if you want, but love lives in all of us. And deep inside, as bitter as we may be towards it, we LONG for it. We LONG that feeling of being loved and being in love. Honestly, in a weird, whacked up way. We want it somehow.

Then comes the other issue. We all want it. But do we need it?
I mean in general, yeah we need love to live. We love our family members and our friends. And we can’t live alone in this world. Even Rasullulah SAW had his friends with him. His comrades. The ones who trusted him and followed the path of Islam that he was assigned to spread to the world by Allah swt.

But the love I’m talking about is like, relationships. Non- marriage ones. The ones that are just temporary. Well majority of them are temporary. Is it a necessity? Every time when I feel lonely and that I kind of need a boyfriend OR whenever I start crushing on someone, I’d ask myself if I really need it.

And like how A Day To Remember’s If It Means Alot To You says it

“Yeah, I want it, but no, I don’t need it”

And the mysteries of love, as how Shiny Toy Gun’s Season of Love says it

“Where does it come from, and where does it go? If it were right in front of me, would I know?”

Leave a Reply

